International Situation

The northern border of the Republic of Poland runs along the seashore of the Baltic Sea. Poland borders on land with seven states:

  • Federal Republic of Germany
  • Czech Republic
  • Slovakia
  • Republic of Lithuania
 internal EU borders:
freedom of movement of goods,
people (Schengen regulation apply),
capital, freedom of establishment
  • Ukraine
  • Republic of Belarus
  • Russian Federation
    (District of Kaliningrad)
 external border of the EU:
customs area, common EU trade policy
and common tariff legislation apply

Poland is a part of the single internal market of the European Union. Goods introduced to the customs area of Poland are subject to customs commercial policy. Tariffs and other customs policy instruments are contained in the Integrated Customs Tariff of the European Communities - TARIC.

Since Poland has joined the Schengen Treaty border controls within the area (all EU countries except UK, Ireland, Romania and Bulgaria) have been abolished, which has resulted in streamlining of intra-Community supply of goods as there is no queuing on the border. Persons entitled to stay in one of the countries of Schengen area can freely move within this zone. This results however in rigid procedures concerning visas for third counties' citizens.

Poland is a member of the OECD - a prestigious club of highly developed states. Membership evidenced the country's economic stability, and in consequence facilitated the access to credit lines granted by financial institutions on preferential terms. It has also demonstrated Poland's ability to adjust to international standards and rules.

Poland is also a full member of the World Trade Organisation. The accession to the WTO has improved Poland's economic situation in the international arena. Polish products have gained better access to third country markets, while at the same time the protective measures against imports have been alleviated and competition in the Polish market increased.